Science and Science Fiction

science

Hey everybody! Another Wednesday is upon us and I’m back. Sorry for missing last week, I was so overwhelmed with Hugo Chavez dying… ok, I let being tired win. My bad.

This week, it’s all about science. Or last week was as I’m finally getting up to speed. Anyway, look at what’s been going on in the world.

886113_564711856883163_2046653084_o

Yay science! But there is something sad I must mention. I was reading comments on this picture on Facebook and saw, “it’s too bad none of this stuff will get funded because it’s not a hot political issue and doesn’t seem immediately profitable.” This seriously pissed me off. If we don’t fund science we might as well go back to the middle ages and wash out clothes with stones in the river and ride our horses everywhere (if we can afford any). We are so immersed with scientific discoveries, often disguised as “technology,” that we don’t even think about it. Right now, I’m using a laptop that uses all kinds of microprocessors and memory to allow my to type this. I don’t know how it works, but I do know the science behind it was being researched before I was born.

tumblr_m6u5rynnlf1rre815o1_400

Now from science, we move to science fiction. I’m soooooo excited because yesterday I got my copy of Wool Omnibus by Hugh Howey!!! I read it for free on Kindle and it was so good that I bought it. And a 500 page book for eight bucks is quite the deal. I think the first book in the series is still available free on Kindle (Omnibus is made up on 5 short books for one awesome story. It’s a post-apocalyptic world where everyone lives in a gigantic silo and the air outside is toxic. And then it get crazy. I’m a big sci-fi fan, and like many sci-fi fans I’ve been disappointed in the stories coming out today. This one is the exception. I have a feeling it will be listed among other great sci-fi classics, and I don’t think it’s planned but I hope they make a movie.

That’s it for me! Hope the rest of your week is Super Cool n’ Awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

