Does Nostalgia Sell?

WWWW Nostalgia

Image

 Hey you crazy kids, it’s another beautiful Wednesday here in Miami. Hope you’re making it count 😉 This week, I want to talk to you about nostalgia.

Last week, you probably saw the new ad for Internet Explorer. If not, you can watch it here:

I think most of us agree that it’s a great ad, but is it effective? Be honest, after seeing that ad are you any more inclined to use IE? I’m not, and from the comments I’ve seen on Facebook and Twitter I know I’m not alone.

1980s1

Nostalgia has been used as a selling tactic forever, that’s why car ads use songs that were popular when their target audience was a teenager, but in this case it just didn’t work. Yes, I’m a child of the 90s and I loved and miss the products in this ad. I had Lisa Frank notebooks, and I remember when Pogs were banned from school after a little girl knocked her teeth out with a slammer, but none of this means anything to me in connection with Internet Explorer. If anything, this ad is telling us that they know we forgot about them, the same way we forgot our tamagotchis and yellow walkmen, but putting yourself in the same category as other outdated technology seems a bad move to me.

The last line, “you grew up, so did we,” is just terrible. We did grow up and the ad clearly shows a man walking away, as if leaving the childish things in his past and going on with his life, but then it ends with a lame screenshot and tell us nothing of the improvements IE has made. They show us as grown ups but leave themselves as a relict from our past. And guess what? This isn’t going to make very many people switch. I still think of IE as the browser you used to download a better browser.

If you grew up in the 90s, this ad will bring back a lot of fond memories, but you’ll probably watch it using Google Chrome.

~Michelle

Leave a Reply

